Bray Wanderers Legends 3 Shamrock Rovers Legends 4 
Sunday May 26, Carlisle Grounds 
Kick-off 3.00pm 
Bray Wanderers Legends 3 Shamrock Rovers Legends 4 
Not even the weather could spoil a wonderful occasion as the Legends honoured Jacko McDonagh. 
Despite heavy rain for the first period, the two teams put a seven-goal spectacle at the Carlisle Grounds on Sunday afternoon. 
The Pat Devlin and Mick Byrne managed teams greeted main guest Jack McDonagh before kick-off. 
The Hoops led 3-0 at the interval. But the Seagulls rallied after the break to make it 4-3 before spurning a series of chances to force a penalty shoot-out. 
Bray fielded a host of players from the 1990 and 1999 FAI Cup success’, with record appearance holder Colm Tresson, former manager Eddie Gormley and ’99 skipper Mick Doohan in the line-up. 
There was even brotherly rivalry as local duo Danny and Kevin O’Connor faced off against each other on opposing sides. 
The Dubliner’s fielded current first team boss Stephen Bradly and Sporting Director Stephen McPhail in their squad. 
Current Assistant coach at the Tallaght outfit Genn Cronin broke the deadlock in the tenth minute with a low drive from the edge of the box. 
That lead was doubled in the 26th minute by striker Dean Kelly while Mark O’Sullivan intercepted and scored from 30-yards into an empty goal on the half hour. 
But Wanderers rallied after the restart. Paul Caffrey made it 3-1 in the 50th minute when latching onto a Kevin O’Connor through ball. 
Five minutes later, Caffrey flicked in John Flood’s cross to make it 3-2. 
But Rovers responded just before the hour mark with Kelly again finding the net after good work by Trevor Molloy. 
Caffrey completed his hat-trick in the 61st minute following David Tyrrell’s assist. 
Caffrey failed to make the most of three glorious opportunities after that while Flood failed to convert to good chances. 
Bray Wanderers: Alan Young; Chris Deans, Maurice Farrell, Mick Doohan, Daire Doyle, Stephen Fox, Ciaran Ryan, Gavin Whelan, Dane Massey, Colm Tresson, Kevin O’Connor, Robbie Doyle, John Flood, Paul Caffrey, Eddie Gormley, David Tyrrell, Dax Kealy, Alan Dodd, Brian Honan, Jamie Quiney, Shane Gallagher, Josh Moran. 
Manager: Pat Devlin. Coach: Garry Zambra. 
Shamrock Rovers: Aaron Shanahan, Trevor Corry, Niall Donnelly, Mark O’Neill, Danny O’Connor, Neil Gallagher, John Swift, Brian Morris-Roe, Pat Sullivan, Stephen Bradley, Glenn Cronin, Gary Sullivan, Aaron Lynch, Trevor Molloy, Dean Kelly, Wayne Christie, Mark Leech, Mark Rutherford, Joe Sheridan, Stephen McPhail, Barry Murphy. 
Manager: Mick Byrne. 
Referee: Pat Kelly. 
Pictures: Vincent Kirwan. 
The club would like to thank anybody who helped or contributed to the worthy cause in anyway. It is appreciated. 
Tagged as: News
Share this post:

Leave a comment: 

Our site uses cookies. For more information, see our cookie policy. Accept cookies and close
Reject cookies Manage settings